My Son-in-Law’s beatiful poem to my granddaughter

Image

~ Simple Wishes ~

By Cory Clayton © 2013
For my Kaylea Dawn

The essence of innocence lay asleep on my lap
The only sounds are your breath and the continuous tap
Of the keys as I capture my thoughts through these words
Knowing I’d give my life to give you all you deserve

Not earthly possessions, which we falsely hold dear
My wish for you is simple, a life without fear

May you truly comprehend; wants versus needs
And be blessed with a heart that helps to plant seeds
So that others may see you as a light
That provides them with courage to continue their fight

Not a fight caused by greed, a desire for more
My wish for you is simple, a life without war

Be a woman of courage, pride, beauty, and grace
But one who’s not fearful to stand in the face
Of those who preach hate, the message of fear
Use love, hope, and kindness when the battle draws near

Not just battles comprised of the physical form
My wish for you is simple, strength to weather life’s storms

One more thing my dear, that I want you to know
That I love you more than I ever could show
An angel sent down from the heavens above
My wish for you is simple, unconditional love

Love Always, Dad

Leave a Reply

